The Big Picture Bible Course – Session 2, GOD

Big Picture Bible Course – Session 2, GOD

http://www.thebigpicturecourse.org/

 

Bible Overview

 

Key events and people Book
Creation Genesis
Fall Genesis
Flood Genesis
Abraham Genesis
Isaac Genesis
Jacob Genesis
12 sons-12 tribes Genesis
Egypt Exodus
Moses Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy
Deliverance Exodus
10 Commandments Exodus
Golden Calf Exodus
Wanderings Exodus, Deuteronomy
Joshua and Caleb Deuteronomy , Joshua
Settling the Promised Land Joshua
Time of the Judges Judges, Ruth, 1 Samuel
Time of the Kings and Prophets 1&2 Sam, 1&2 Kings, 1&2 Chronicles, Psalms, Proverbs, Song of Songs, Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel etc. to Malachi
Kingdom splits in two 1&2 K, 1&2 Chron
Israel overrun by Assyria – 10 tribes disappear 2 Kings
Disaster – Judah overrun by Babylon

Temple destroyed, people taken into exile

2 Kings
Exile in Babylon Daniel, Esther
Return from Babylon,

Temple rebuilt

Ezra, Nehemiah
Time of the Maccabees 1&2 Maccabees
Time of Herod the Great Matthew,
Jesus Matthew, Mark, Luke, John, Acts, Revelation
The Apostles Letters of Paul, Peter, James, John, Jude

Opening Prayer

 

  1. Come Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of your faithful
  2. And kindle in them the fire of your love.
  3. Send forth your Spirit and they shall be created
  4. And you will renew the face of the earth.

 

Charles de Foucald’s Prayer of Abandonment

 

Father I abandon myself into your hands;  Do with me what you will.

Whatever you may do, I thank you; I am ready for all, I accept all.

Let only your will be done in me and in all your creatures.

I wish no more than this, O Lord.

Into your hands I commend my soul:

I offer it to you with all the love of my heart,

For I love you, Lord and so need to give myself,

To surrender myself into your hands without reserve

And with boundless confidence, for you are my Father.

 

Time of Sharing

How did you get on with the week’s tasks?

  • The prayer
  • The verse from Proverbs, your hopes for the course.
  • The verse from Colossians, making room in your heart.
  • Luke 24: 44-45 & 1 Corinthians 2: 11-12, drawing
  • Ephesians 1: 15-23, Paul’s prayer
  • Psalm 119: 9-18
  • The Big Read Psalm 119: 89 to 152 – do any verses stand out, i.e. vs 105

 

Scriptures from Last Week

 

Proverbs 2: 1-5 – My son, if you take my words to heart, if you set store by my commandments, tuning your ear to wisdom, and applying your heart to truth; yes, if your plea is for clear perception, if you cry out for discernment, if you look for it as if it were silver, and search for it as for buried treasure, you will then understand what the fear of the Lord is, and discover the knowledge of discernment.

 

Colossians 3: 16 – Let the message of Christ, in all its richness, find a home with you.  Teach each other, and advise each other, in all wisdom.  With gratitude in your hearts sing Psalms and Hymns and inspired songs to God.

 

Luke 24: 44-45 – Then He told them, ‘This is what I meant when I said, while I was still with you, that everything written about me in the Law of Moses, in the Prophets and in the Psalms, has to be fulfilled.’  He then opened their minds to understand the scriptures.

 

1 Corinthians 2: 11-12 – After all, the depths of a man can only be known by his own spirit, not by any other man, and in the same way the depths of God can only be known by the Spirit of God.  Now instead of the Spirit of the world, we have received the Spirit that comes from God, to teach us to understand the gifts he has given us.

 

Ephesians 1: 17-18 – May the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, give you a spirit of wisdom and perception of what is revealed, to bring you to full knowledge of Him.  May he enlighten the eyes so that you can see what hope His call holds for you, what rich glories He has promised the saints will inherit.

 

Psalm 119 vs 10 – I have sought you will all my heart, do not let me stray from Your commandments.

vs 18 – Open my eyes: I shall concentrate on the marvels of  Your law.

vs 105 – Now Your word is a lamp to my feet, a light on my path.

 

Do you notice any common themes in these verses of scripture?

Do they relate to the theme of the session? (God’s plan)

 

Incidentally the Psalms are to King David as the Proverbs are to King Solomon.  Look at the opening to Psalm 3 (Psalm of David) and Proverbs 1:1 (The Proverbs of Solomon, son of David, king of Israel).

 

We are in good company!

 

 

 

Read the overview for Session 2 – God (red edged pages)

 

And then we’ll watch the DVD, I found some of this quite moving.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scriptures for marking for next weeks tasks.

 

Isaiah 40: 12-15,  1 Kings 19: 11-13,  Exodus 3: 13-15

 

Romans 1: 20,  Hebrews 1: 1-4

 

2 Corinthians 10: 4-5,  Romans 12:2

 

Zephaniah 3: 17,  1 John 3: 1-3,  Ephesians 3: 18-19

 

Exodus 15: 11,  Exodus 34: 5-6,  Isaiah 46: 9-10,  Revelation 1: 8

 

The tasks for next week look to have a Lenten feel to them and could easily lead into the Sacrament of Reconciliation.

 

 

Claude’s alternative tasks (or as well as)

 

Old Testament Reading  Exodus 32: 1-30

The Golden Calf

 

I often wondered why Aaron was let off of his part in this episode.

Have a look at Deuteronomy 9:20.  You might want to read from vs 7 to 21.

 

A verse that might make you smile is Exodus 34: 1 – God gives Moses a little reminder.

 

 

New Testament Reading

 

We’ve had a few references to Paul’s letter to Ephesians, so why not read the whole letter.

Note 1. Pauls opening  – Ch 1: vs 1-2

  1. How many blessings? Ch1: vs 3
  2. Paul, a prisoner – Ch 3:vs 1 (probably in Rome)
  3. Paul’s prayer Ch 3: vs 14-21
  4. The armour of God – Ch 6: vs 10-20.  I wonder if Paul wrote this with a soldier next to him,  What is our sword?  When you find out wave it in the air.

 

Hymn – What a faithful God have I

 

Leave a Reply

